By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies. They ensure the proper functioning of our services, analytics tools and display of relevant ads. Learn more about cookies and control them

Not yet registered? Create a OverBlog!

Create my blog

A guide to the department of Births, Deaths and Marriages

The department of Births, Deaths and Marriages in NSW is an agency of the department of Justice and AG. The registry’s main objective is to register all life events of births, deaths and marriages. This department has been given the mandate to implement the births, deaths and marriage Act of 1995. This article acts as a guide to the department of Births, Deaths and Marriages.

Role of the department of Births, Deaths and Marriages (BDM)

Location This department is located in NSW and has the mandate to register life events in Australia. It is held responsible to accurately and securely record these events and to ensuring their confidentiality. UK also has such an office where all deaths, marriages and births are registered. Here, it is known as the general register office. Record keeping and retrieval After such records are made, other relatives or accredited family members can be able to retrieve this information whenever needed. Retrieval purposes are usually for legal purpose to prove legal entitlement. The department is also given the role for the change of names of persons. This is usually permitted after a divorce and a marriage event. Change of names is also done with a valid reason, but not related to crime evasion attempt. Services The NSW registry of births, deaths and marriages can be contacted when one wants to: i) Record the death of a child, parent or any immediate family member. ii) When one wants to acquire a marriage certificate which is signed by both parties during the time of marriage. iii) When a child is born out of hospital, the child should be registered. This is to ensure that such data goes to the relevant authorities.

Why is the data collected important?

Uses of the archived data Once the data is collected, it is used by major planning departments of the government. Such departments that rely on the BDM for statistics are Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. By obtaining data from department of BDM, it is able to plan for hospital and public sanitation budgets. The Australian Bureau of Statistics is also dependent on the BDM for data, for its planning and research purposes.

Other roles

Census roles This department is also responsible for carrying out census and head count surveys. This helps to ascertain the population for budgetary purposes. Child adoption In case of child adoption, the department of BDM should be contacted so as to change the personal details of the child. The department can also be availed to an accredited person, and the family history found in their records.


The department of BDM NSW records all the emotional and major stages of life, a path that everyone on the planet will certainly follow.

Same category articles Workers rights & entitlements

All about employment law solicitors

All about employment law solicitors

Employment law and redundancy law are ever increasing areas of the law, where people are getting access to law advice about discrimination and unfair dismissals, amongst other upsetting eventualities. This article looks at what employment law solicitors do and how they can help you with your legal problem.
How to report identity theft?

How to report identity theft?

If you believe you are the victim of identity theft, and if your personal or financial information is being used by a person or persons unknown to you, then you should take the following steps to report this type of crime immediately.
A guide to laws concerning animals in the UK

A guide to laws concerning animals in the UK

In 2007, the Animal Welfare Act saw a review of pet abuse laws for the first time in more than 90 years. The previous law, the Protection of Animals Act, which had been passed in 1911, was replaced by the new law which came into place in England and Wales. The new Act had set about combining 20 pieces of legislation in order to tighten the laws around animal cruelty in the UK.